House Democrats Announce Leadership Team And Committee Assignments

January 4, 2019

Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin/Southington) and House Majority Leader Matt Ritter (D-Hartford) today announced their House Democratic leadership team and caucus committee assignments (see attached) for the upcoming legislative session which convenes January 9.

“This is a great time of opportunity for our state, and the leadership team we have put together is committed to working to develop policies that help improve the quality of life for everyone in our state,” Aresimowicz said. “House Democrats represent diverse communities from all corners of our state, and with more than a quarter of our members entering their first term in the legislature we have a great combination of fresh faces to go along with the experience necessary to make positive change.”

House Democrats picked up 12 seats in the 2018 elections, increasing their margin in the House of Representatives from 80-71 to 92-59 over the Republican minority.

“Like the speaker, I am very excited to begin the 2019 legislative session and our committee assignments reflect the diverse make up of our 92 members,” said Ritter. “I look forward to working with all of the new chairs and ranking members on a variety of issues to continue to move our state forward.”