Lemar Named Chair of Planning and Development Committee

January 11, 2017

Rep. Lemar has been appointed Chair of the Planning and Development Committee for the 2017-2019 term by Democratic leaders, Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz (D-30) and Majority Leader Matthew Ritter (D-1.)

The Planning and Development Committee handles all matters relating to local governments, housing, urban renewal, fire, sewer and metropolitan districts, home rule and planning and zoning; regional planning.

"I want to thank Speaker Aresimowicz and Majority Leader Ritter for appointing me to this position,” Lemar said. “I appreciate the work of this committee and am eager to work with my colleagues to push for legislation and investments that will support smart growth in our communities, advance urban renewal programs in our Cities and streamline local housing and development activities that make for a better Connecticut. I will also continue to push for the adoption of regional efficiency initiatives to save our taxpayers money while streamlining services."