Aresimowicz Honored By AARP

February 20, 2015

Laura Schiavone (left) and Janet Ferracci-Carter (right), both Advocacy Specialists for the AARP Southington Branch, presented Majority Leader Joe Aresimowicz with the 2014 AARP Legislative Achievement Award at the Capitol in Hartford.

Majority Leader Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin/Southington) has been awarded the 2014 AARP Legislative Achievement Award in recognition of his efforts to provide a more secure financial future for Connecticut residents.

"I'm very honored to receive this award from AARP," said Aresimowicz. "There are as many as 740,000 Connecticut residents not participating in a retirement plan provided by their employer and I am proud to work with AARP to take the first steps to give those workers access to a secure retirement."

AARP honored Aresimowicz for his leadership and outstanding advocacy for the establishment of the Connecticut Retirement Security Board, which will develop a plan for a public retirement savings plan for private sector workers.

<"On behalf of AARP's nearly 600,000 members in Connecticut, we are pleased to honor Majority Leader Aresimowicz with a legislative achievement award," said John Erlingheuser. "Through Representative Aresimowicz's leadership, Connecticut is preparing to make it easier for small businesses to create basic retirement savings options for employees so they can save while they work."

AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization, with a membership of more than 37 million, that works on issues that matter most to families such as healthcare, employment security and retirement planning.

Press Release: Majority Leader Aresimowicz Honored by AARP