Connecticut's 2022 Sales Tax Free Week is August 21 through August 27. This is a great opportunity to take the kids back-to-school shopping or to treat yourself or your loved ones while saving.
Many retailers in Connecticut offer additional discounts on clothing and footwear during Sales Tax Free Week, offering consumers even more savings.
During the one-week sales tax holiday, most clothing and footwear items priced under $100 are exempt from the Connecticut sales tax. The exemption during Sales Tax Free Week applies to each eligible item costing under $100, regardless of how many of those items are sold to a customer in the same transaction. The tax holiday applies to purchases made in-store, online, mail-order, and over the phone.
The sales tax holiday occurs once a year as a result of legislation passed in 2015. However, in 2022, we passed a special act to establish a one-time tax holiday that ran from April 10 to 16 to help ease some of the financial strain on residents. The law also established CT's gas tax holiday and free bus service, which have been extended through the end of November.
More information about Connecticut’s Sales Tax Holiday, including a list of exempt and taxable items, is available on the Department of Revenue Services website.
If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out.