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New Domestic Violence Law Set to Take Effect October 1st 
-Subjects of temporary restraining orders to be 

prohibited from possessing firearms- 
 

Hartford, CT – Beginning October 1st, individuals who have been notified that they are 
subject to a court-ordered temporary restraining order will no longer be able to 
possess firearms or ammunition during the days leading up to their hearing.  
 

"This new law represents a significant step in Connecticut’s efforts to protect victims of 
domestic violence at the most dangerous time," said Karen Jarmoc, CCADV chief 
executive officer. "Women in abusive relationships are five times more likely to be 
killed if their abuser has access to a gun. Temporarily limiting access to firearms when 
a victim seeks a restraining order and takes that first step to leave is the right thing to 
do to protect her or his safety." 
 
Following successful, bipartisan passage of Public Act 16-34 led by Governor Dannel 
P. Malloy and Representatives William Tong (D-Stamford), Robyn Porter (D-New 
Haven) and Caroline Simmons (D-Stamford), respondents of ex parte restraining 
orders will no longer be able to possess firearms or ammunition once they have been 
served with the order. All orders must be served within 3 days of the hearing, and 
hearings on ex parte restraining orders must occur between 7 and 14 days after the 
date of the order. Individuals subject to these orders must temporarily surrender 
firearms and ammunition to law enforcement or sell them to a federally-licensed 
firearms dealer within 24 hours of notification of said order. The new law also explicitly 
outlines procedures by which firearms and ammunition surrendered to law 
enforcement must be returned within 5 business days of a request by the respondent 
for their return if a permanent order is not put in place and if the respondent does not 
have face any other statutory disqualifications. 
 
Governor Malloy said, “When an instance of domestic violence rises to the point that a 
temporary restraining order is needed, we must do everything we can to prevent 
tragedy.  Women in abusive relationships are five times more likely to be killed if their 
abuser has access to a firearm.  Between 2000 through 2015, Connecticut averaged 
14 intimate partner homicides per year, and firearms were the most commonly used 
weapons.  Now, Connecticut will take a commonsense step towards strengthening 
and enhancing our gun violence protection laws.” 
 
Last week CCADV released the most recent findings of the CT Domestic Violence 
Fatality Review Committee, which found that firearms remain the single most 
commonly used weapon in intimate partner homicides – used in 41% of the 222 
intimate partner homicides in Connecticut between 2000 and 2015 (click here to view 
the report). Connecticut has averaged 14 intimate partner homicides annually since 
2000. 
 
“Preventing violence against women is one of my top priorities, and this law will do just 
that,” said Representative William Tong (D-Stamford). “This legislation is, and always  
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has been, about keeping victims of domestic violence safe at the most dangerous time, when they are trying 
to end an abusive relationship. I am grateful that Connecticut has now joined with 20 other states that 
provide a similar level of protection to victims.” 
  
"Well, October 1st, 2016 will certainly be a great day throughout the State of Connecticut because Public Act 
16-34 will officially be in effect and women and men who are victims of domestic violence will have the 
protection they so rightfully deserve when their abusers are known to own firearms,” said Representative 
Robyn Porter (D-New Haven). “Indeed, this is a tremendous victory and this common sense law will go a 
long way in saving the lives of CT residents across the state. After all, the ultimate constitutional right is the 
right to LIVE and that right unequivocally supersedes an abuser's right to carry a gun. This law truly is a 
preventive measure that will save many lives and I am proud to have been one of the legislators who led the 
charge of its passing in the House." 
 
"I applaud the passage of this critical legislation that will protect victims of domestic violence from gun 
violence,” said Representative Caroline Simmons (D-Stamford). “We know when domestic abusers have 
access to a gun that women are five times more likely to be killed. This legislation is a common sense, safety 
measure that will help save lives. Thank you to CCADV and CT Against Gun Violence for your tremendous 
work in getting this legislation passed." 
 
Following two years of intense debate, the General Assembly passed Public Act 16-34 with strong bipartisan 
support in the House by a vote of 104-42 and in the Senate by a vote of 23-13. The General Assembly 
recognized the dangerous combination presented by domestic violence and firearms, including the fact that 
domestic assaults involving firearms are 12 times more likely to result in death than those involving other 
weapons or bodily force. At least 20 other states give courts the explicit authority to temporarily remove 
firearms from some or all individuals who are subject to a temporary restraining order. 

 
Said Jarmoc, “we look forward to working with our partners in law enforcement, the Connecticut Judicial 
Branch, and those who serve as State Marshals to ensure the smooth and successful implementation of this 
new law.” 
 
Between 2000 and 2015, 222 victims have been killed in Connecticut as a result of intimate partner violence, 
including 190 women (86%) and 32 men (14%). Intimate partner homicides make up 13% of Connecticut’s 
overall homicide rate, with the parties most often being married (35%). Thirty percent (30%) of Connecticut’s 
intimate partner homicides result in murder/suicides, of which 79% of those murder/suicides are committed 
with a firearm. Victims and offenders of intimate partner homicide in Connecticut are most often between the 
ages of 25 and 34. 

 

 
### 

 
Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Inc. is the state’s leading voice for victims of domestic 
violence and those who serve them. We are a membership organization of the state's 18 domestic 
violence organizations. Help is available to victims 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by calling the statewide 
hotline at 888.774.2900 (English) or 844.831.9200 (Español). Victims can access shelter, counseling, 
support groups, children’s services and court advocacy through our members. For more information, 
please visit www.ctcadv.org. 
 


