Speaker’s Tourism Panel

Legislative Update

Using the recommendations from the Speaker’s Tourism Commission, House Bill 7306 was introduced and passed by both the House and Senate. The legislation is designed to help make Connecticut more visitor-friendly.

This legislation:

  • Reopens the state’s six highway visitor welcome centers in Danbury, Darien, Greenwich, North Stonington, Westbrook, West Willington
  • Provides 24 hour restroom facilities at the welcome centers
  • Improves signage promoting state attractions
  • Establishes a Tourism Council to oversee the marketing of our state

Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz views Connecticut’s tourism industry as an important sector of the state’s economy, and formed a panel to focus on ways to encourage further growth. The Speaker’s Blue Ribbon Panel on Tourism will hold meetings and hearings throughout the state in the coming months to listen and seek input from the public, businesses, and institutions.

January 31, 2019 Meeting

December 5, 2018 Meeting

Dates for regional meetings

The Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, January 18th at 10am

Foxwoods Resort Casino, January 23rd at 2:30pm

Legislative Office Building, 300 Capitol Ave, Hartford Room 1D, January 31st at 2:30pm

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History, February 11th at 2:30pm


February 11, 2019 - Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History, New Haven, CT
January 31, 2019 - Legislative Office Building, Hartford, CT
January 23, 2019 - Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT
January 18, 2019 - The Maritime Aquarium, Norwalk, CT
January 2, 2019 - Wadsworth Mansion, Middletown, CT
December 18, 2018 - Middlesex Chamber of Commerce
December 5, 2018 - Legislative Office Building

Membership *

Don DeVivo (Chair) – President, DATTCO Transportation

Jeffery Muthersbaugh – Nehamiah Brainerd House B&B, President CT Lodging Association

Ed Dombroskas – Former Executive Director Connecticut Office of Tourism, Executive Director Eastern Regional Tourism District

Larry McHugh – President, Middlesex Chamber of Commerce

Johanna Bond - Central Regional Tourism District

Kevin Brown – Chairman, Mohegan Tribal Nation

Rodney Butler – Chairman, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Council

Edward Dresel – Former President, Destinations Unlimited Inc.

Helen Higgins – Former Chair, CT Humanities

Deborah Moore – President, Wadsworth Mansion Facility

David Skelly – Director, Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History

Gregg Dancho – Executive Director, Beardsley Zoo

Pieter Roos – Executive Director Mark Twain House and Museum

Rebekah Beaulieu – Executive Director, Florence Griswold Museum

Christine Castonguay – Director of Branding and Marketing, DECD

*Not all appointments have been made