COVID-19 Week Recap

July 17, 2020

Below you can find information on the following topics:

  • CT's Temporary Housing Assistance Initiatives Began Wednesday
  • Regional Travel Advisory Updated
  • Special Session Slated for Next Week

For more information about the state's response efforts visit to receive text message notifications, sign up for CTAlert, the state’s emergency alert system. To subscribe, text "COVIDCT" to 888-777.

CT's Temporary Housing Assistance Initiatives Began Wednesday

As of July 15, Connecticut's Temporary Rental Housing Assistance (TRHAP) and Temporary-Mortgage Assistance (T-MAP) Programs are now available.

Temporary Rental Housing Assistance Program:

  • Initial priority for TRHAP assistance will be targeted at individuals and families who have been denied unemployment assistance from the Department of Labor. Potential applicants will be directed to a Centralized Call Center for Threshold eligibility, after which a detailed application must be completed.
  • Individuals who are unemployed or under-employed and who have not yet filed for unemployment assistance should file as soon as possible.
  • Individuals who would like to speak to a Call Center Representative to determine their eligibility for TRHAP assistance can call 1-860-785-3111. 

Temporary-Mortgage Assistance Program:

  • The program will provide up to $10,000 in emergency loan funds for low and moderate income homeowners to pay their housing costs.
  • Eligible households with incomes at or below 120 percent of the area median income will be eligible to apply for up to $25,000 in the form of a second mortgage loan.
  • Individuals who would like to speak with a Call Center Representative to determine their eligibility and apply should call 1-860-785-3111.

Further information about either program is available on the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority website, here.

More States Added to Regional Travel Advisory

The regional travel advisory between Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York that went into effect in June now includes 22 states. Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio, and Wisconsin were added recently, and Delaware has been removed. 

The advisory directs incoming travelers from states with significant community spread of COVID-19 to self-quarantine for a 14-day period. 

As of Tuesday the advisory includes the following 22 states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

The travel advisory is updated regularly. Updates and additional information are available here.

Special Session Slated For Next Week

The Connecticut General Assembly will hold a historic special session next week. Using video conferencing technology, staggered debates, and social distancing, legislators will be able to fulfill their elected duties while also following safety guidelines and recommendations. A date has yet to be set for the Special Session, but my office will keep you updated as more details become available.