Next week, several new laws in Connecticut will go into effect on October 1. These laws are a result of the hard work of my colleagues and I during the 2021 session. We worked tirelessly to push for change that would benefit all Connecticut residents.
Below is a selection of some of the laws that will go into effect on Friday, October 1:
Breastfeeding in the Workplace
- Public Act No. 21-27 – Requires employers to provide a private room or location with an electrical outlet for women to express milk. Employers must also provide a refrigerated space to store the breastmilk.
- The law also protects breastfeeding employees from workplace discrimination.
Marijuana and Smoking Restrictions
- On October 1, a portion of Public Act No. 21-1 will go into effect.
- Medical marijuana patients who are 18 years of age or older can start growing mature and immature plants at home.
- Smoking of any kind (tobacco, vaping, marijuana) will be prohibited within 25 feet of the any door, window, or vent intake of any building open to the public.
- PA 21-28 clarifies the rules for pedestrians in crosswalks
- Starting October 1, drivers must slow down or stop if a pedestrian is in the crosswalk or indicated that they are going to cross.
Addressing Gender Discrimination
- PA 21-30 – Requires employers to offer equal pay for "comparable” work regardless of gender.
- Also requires employers to offer prospective applicants and employees with a scale of pay among those with similar tasks.
- PA 21-58 -Starting October 1, certain retailers will be required to have at least two reverse vending machines on their premises.
- It also increases the handling fee paid by the distributors to redemption centers from 2.5 cents per beverage container to 3.5 cents.
Click here the complete list of laws that will go into effect on October 1.
Although these laws are a compilation of this year's accomplishments in the legislature, you always have the opportunity to make your voice heard. Please stay active in the legislative processes and stay in touch.