Fines for Distracted Driving Increased
As life starts to return to normal and the holidays arrive, many of us will be back on the road again. More time on the road means more opportunities for distracted driving. As of October 1, penalties for texting and driving increased in an effort to stop distracted driving.
Distracted driving has become one of the leading causes of accidents on our roads, with nearly 5,000 crashes attributed to distracted driving in Connecticut in 2020 alone.
Connecticut law prohibits the use of any hand-held mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age are prohibited from using a cell phone or mobile device at any time, even with a hands-free accessory.
The new fines for driving while distracted are:
- For the first violation, offenders are fined $200 (was previously $150)
- For a second violation, offenders are fined $375 (was previously $300)
- For a third or subsequent violation, offenders are fined $625 (was previously $500)
Throughout the month of October, state and local police will be increasing enforcement of the new distracted driving law.
Please urge your family and friends to put their cell phones away while driving. No text message or phone call is worth putting yourself and others at risk.
For more information, visit www.distraction.gov.