New Chairs Named to Housing and Aging Committees

January 12, 2022

Representative Quentin “Q” Phipps of Middletown was recently named House Chair of the legislature's Housing Committee and Representative Jane Garibay who serves Windsor and Windsor Locks was named House Chair of the Aging Committee by Speaker of the House Matt Ritter and Majority Leader Jason Rojas.

"Quentin Phipps is a leader in the House Democrats and the legislature. He is the right choice to co-chair the Housing Committee," said Speaker Ritter. "Issues related to housing equity and justice are as serious today as they were decades ago. I know Q will dedicate his energies to thoughtful solutions."

The Housing Committee has legislative oversight of all matters relating to housing policy and housing programs.

Q. Phipps

"It's an absolute honor to be named House Chair of the Housing Committee. The on-going COVID-19 pandemic has brought unique challenges with many families struggling with housing needs. I look forward to working together with all stakeholders to ensure safe and reasonable housing options for all our residents. I also want to thank Speaker Ritter and Majority Leader Rojas for their faith in me and commitment to sound policy," said Rep. Phipps.

The Aging Committee, which Rep. Garibay will now chair, has cognizance of all matters relating to senior citizens.

“Rep. Garibay has been an effective leader engaging with colleagues to shape important policy decisions across a spectrum of issues. I am pleased she has agreed to take on this new role and am confident that she will champion smart policy that improves the quality of life for our seniors," Majority Leader Rojas said.

Jane Garibay

Rep. Garibay said, "I want to thank Speaker Ritter and Majority Leader Rojas for this incredible honor. Connecticut's seniors need allies at the State Capitol and that's what we look to do on the Aging Committee."