Assistance for Essential WorkersJanuary 19, 2022
The legislature authorized The Connecticut Essential Workers COVID-19 Assistance Fund to help ease the financial burden on essential workers who became ill and were unable to work, or died, between March 10, 2020 and July 20, 2021, and that program is now up and running.
One of the many things we all have learned during the COVID-19 pandemic is a renewed appreciation for essential workers such as healthcare professionals, first responders, educators and grocery store employees.
The Connecticut Essential Workers COVID-19 Assistance Fund was created specifically to help with:
- Lost Wages – Unpaid leave and lost wages for an employee who was unable to work after contracting COVID-19, or due to symptoms later diagnosed as COVID-19.
- Out-of-Pocket Medical Expenses – For medical services related to contracting COVID-19 that were not covered by insurance.
- Burial Expenses – Burial/funeral expenses of $3,000 for a family of an eligible essential worker who died from COVID-19.
Families can also apply for any combination of the three benefits on behalf of a qualified essential worker who died after contracting COVID-19. The program stands to help thousands of people who put their lives on the line to help Connecticut stay safe.
To check eligibility and apply, please visit www.ctessentialworkerrelief.org
You can also call 833-660-2503 or email ContactUs@CTEssentialWorkerRelief.org for more information.
The Fund has $34 million available in assistance and is being administered by the Office of the State Comptroller. Program benefits are available to qualified essential workers on a first-come, first-served basis until all funds have been distributed.
If you or someone you know is eligible and in need of assistance, please apply and share the information about the Connecticut Essential Workers COVID-19 Assistance Fund with them so they can also get the help they deserve.