Gas Tax Savings, Free Bus Service, Sales Tax-free WeekMarch 30, 2022
Legislation passed by the General Assembly last week suspended the state's 25-cent-per-gallon gasoline tax from April 1 through June 30, provides free bus service through June 30 and creates an additional sales tax-free week on clothing and shoes under $100 from April 10-16.
This bill, which has already been signed into law by the Governor, will help ease some of the financial burden on Connecticut residents and working families whose wallets and budgets have taken a hit due to rising gasoline prices and high inflation levels.
As of last week, Connecticut motorists were paying an average of $4.33 for a gallon of gas compared to the previous national high of $4.11 back in 2008. The state's 25-cent per gallon gas tax will be suspended through June without violating any federal rules and without any impact on our special transportation fund which pays for infrastructure needs.
It is now incumbent upon oil and gas companies to do the right thing by consumers and lower their prices. The law contains strict safeguards that will allow the state to go after businesses who do not lower their gas prices, but we still will need your help.
If you see something you think is unusual, please say something. Here's how to file a complaint:
Use the Attorney General's complaint form HERE.
Identify the specific location of the gas station or business, as well as the date and time of sale and include any documentation, especially receipts.
The legislation also provides free bus service for all residents through June, and establishes a sales tax-free week on clothing and shoes under $100 from April 10 through April 16. This is in addition to the annual tax-free week which occurs in August.
Stay tuned as House Democrats is committed to even more tax relief for you and your family as we develop our budget adjustments over the next month or so.