Child Tax Payments Available to ResidentsMay 25, 2022
Beginning June 1, residents can begin applying for Child Tax Payments that are part of the historic $600 million in tax cuts contained in our 2023 state budget passed by the legislature this month and signed into law by the Governor.
These payments are part of groundbreaking investments we are making in our children that include childcare, children's mental health and educational opportunity.
Any Connecticut resident who claimed at least one dependent child under the age of 18 on their 2021 federal income tax return may be eligible to receive a maximum payment of $250 per child (for up to three children).
The Child Tax Payments are available to residents within the following income guidelines (higher incomes may be eligible for a reduced rebate):
Anyone who is interested in seeking a payment must apply to the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS) with applications closing on July 31, 2022 - recipients will receive funds beginning in late August.
Click here for details on applying for the 2022 CT Child Tax Payments
DRS is also in the process of reaching out to an estimated 300,000 eligible households, and we encourage you to share this information with any parents you know that may qualify.