New year, new wage! The state's minimum wage of $15 will increase to $15.69 on January 1, 2024, as part of Connecticut’s first-ever economic indicator adjustment.
The increase was made possible thanks legislation passed to in 2019, which implemented five incremental increases in the minimum wage between 2019 and 2023, followed by future adjustments that are tied to the percentage change in the federal employment cost index.
Beginning on January 1, 2024, and occurring annually each January 1, the state's minimum wage will be adjusted according to the U.S. Department of Labor's calculation of the employment cost index from the 12-month period ending on June 30 of the preceding year. The law requires the Connecticut Department of Labor to review this percentage change and then announce any adjustments by October 15 of each year. The minimum wage adjustments become effective on the next January 1.