CCM Names Rojas Legislator Of The Year

October 30, 2018

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) has named Rep. Jason Rojas the 2018 Legislator of the Year for the 151-member House of Representatives.

Rojas is House chairman for the legislature’s Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee and a member of the State Bond Commission. He received the statewide award Oct. 30 at CCM’s annual convention at Foxwoods Resort. Sen. George Logan of Ansonia was chosen for the Senate award.

“Representative Rojas has a deep commitment to his constituents and shows a significant understanding of the needs of the town and city governments in his district as well as across the state,” Joe DeLong, CCM executive director, said. “His work as co-chair of the Finances Committee is critical to municipal interests and he always assesses the local government impact on all legislation that comes before him.”

Rojas, also a member of the Planning and Development Committee, previously served on the East Hartford Town Council, the town’s Board of Education and the New England Association of Schools and Colleges’ Commission on Public Secondary Schools.

“My childhood dream was to one day be mayor so I am grateful for this award, and for CCM’s commitment to our state. I have a deep respect for our local chief elected officials and there’s still much to be done, and I look forward to working alongside CCM in the coming legislative session,” Rojas said.

Outside of the legislature, Jason is chief of staff to the president and director of community relations at Trinity College. In addition, he serves on the board of directors of Billings Forge Community Works and Southside Institutions Neighborhood Alliance, as well as the Board of Trustees of the Boys and Girls Club of Hartford.