Legislature approves changes to Renters' Rebate Program and hospital taxNovember 21, 2017
Last week, we ensured participants in the Renters’ Rebate Program will receive their checks with a quick fix to the bipartisan state budget.
The Connecticut Renters’ Rebate Program provides rebates to older adult or disabled renters whose incomes do not exceed certain thresholds. The two-year, $41.3 billion budget that passed Oct. 26 set aside $12.68 million in 2018 and $13.66 million in 2019 for the program, which has traditionally been managed through the state Office of Policy and Management.
Between April 1 and Oct. 1, qualified individuals can apply to their local assessors once a year for state reimbursement for rental payments they made in the preceding calendar year. Any state residents renting an apartment or room, or living in cooperative housing or a mobile home, are eligible for this program. While renters’ rebate recipients are typically 65 years or older or 18 years old and permanently disabled, they also must meet a one year state residency requirement.
Married couples can receive up to $900 and a single person will be refunded a maximum of $700 through the Connecticut Renters’ Rebate Program. The rebate amount is calculated on a graduated income scale and the amount of rent and utility payments, excluding telephone, made in the previous year.
The vote on Nov. 15 also made technical changes to the hospital tax. These changes will allow the state to become eligible for additional federal funding under the Medicaid program. While a portion of that money is sent back to the hospitals, some of it will also be used to balance the state’s budget.
These changes will not only keep Connecticut on the path to fiscal stability but ensure that we continue to help our most vulnerable residents.