This weekend, several new laws in Connecticut will go into effect on October 1. These laws are a result of my colleagues' hard work during the 2022 session. Below are just some of the laws that will take effect and what they mean for you.
If you or someone you know is a recent high school graduate headed to college or university, I have some important information to share with you! The deadline to apply for financial aid through Connecticut's free community college program is fast approaching. Students looking to take advantage of the Pledge to Advance Connecticut (PACT) program are encouraged to apply by Friday, July 15.
On July 1, minimum wage workers received a well-deserved raise.
Back in 2019, Connecticut House Democrats made it a priority to pass legislation that focused on assisting working families by increasing the minimum wage over of several years until it reaches $15 in 2023.
In a 6-3 decision today, the U.S. Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, and eliminated the constitutional right to an abortion after nearly 50 years.